Resources

We encourage students and parents to establish good relationship with the school counselors and closely work with them for the guidance in the college planning. The following resources can give you some supplemental help should you decide to do it on your own. If you need further individualized strategies and management for the process, please contact karen@admission-bridge.com. 

1.     College Planning and Timeline

College Planning: https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/?navid=bf-cp

College Planning Timeline: https://www.californiacolleges.edu/College_Planning/Prepare_for_College/College_Planning_Timeline/College_Timeline_-_Landing_Page.aspx

2.     Career Interests and Exploration

 

California CareerZone: https://www.cacareerzone.org/

 

John Hopkins Career Exploration Resources: http://cty.jhu.edu/imagine/resources/careers.html

 

3.     College Search and Research

 

College Navigator: http://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/

 

College Scorecard: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/

 

College Data: http://www.collegedata.com/cs/search/college/college_search_tmpl.jhtml

 

Colleges That Change Lives: http://ctcl.org/

 

4.     Financial Planning, Aid and Scholarship

 

Net Price Calculator: http://netpricecalculator.collegeboard.org/

 

EFC (Estimated Family Contribution) Calculator: https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/pay-for-college/paying-your-share/expected-family-contribution-calculator

 

3 Steps to Get Financial Aid: https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/pay-for-college/financial-aid/3-steps-to-getting-financial-aid

 

FAFSA: https://fafsa.gov/

 

CSS Profile: https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/pay-for-college/financial-aid-101/how-to-complete-the-css-financial-aid-profile

 

College Saving Options: http://www.savingforcollege.com/compare_savings_options/

 

Outside Scholarship (Fastweb): http://www.fastweb.com/college-scholarships

 

Outside Scholarship (Financial aid): http://www.finaid.org/scholarships/

16 Crowdfunding Sites for College Cost: http://www.crowdcrux.com/crowdfunding-sites-for-college-and-education-costs/

 

5.     Test Planning and Strategies

 

SAT Prep: https://collegereadiness.collegeboard.org/sat/practice

Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/test-prep/sat

 

ACT Prep: http://www.act.org/content/act/en/products-and-services/preact.html

 

Prepscholar: http://www.prepscholar.com/

 

Arborbridge: https://www.arborbridge.com/

 

Applerouth: https://www.applerouth.com/

San Jose-Camden Sylvan Learning: www.sylvancamden.com

AJ Tutoring - San Jose: http://www.ajtutoring.com/locations/san-jose/

6.    Essay Brainstorm and Writing Techniques

The Essay Guy: http://www.collegeessayguy.com/personal-statement

7.     College Application

 

Common Application: http://www.commonapp.org/

 

Coalition for Access, Affordability and Success: http://www.coalitionforcollegeaccess.org/

 

Universal College Application: https://www.universalcollegeapp.com/

 

8.     UC System

 

UC University Admission: http://admission.universityofcalifornia.edu/

 

CSU University Admission: http://www.csumentor.edu/planning/

 

California Transfer Students: http://www.assist.org/web-assist/welcome.html

 

9.     Teen Parenting Books

 

How to Raise an Adult: Break Free of the Overparenting Trap and Prepare Your Kid for Success by Julie Lythcott-Haims: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OO2LJS2/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

 

Why Do They Act That Way? - Revised and Updated: A Survival Guide to the Adolescent Brain for You and Your Teen by by Dr. David Walsh: https://www.amazon.com/Why-They-Act-That-Way/dp/1476755574/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

T: 408-389-8768

 

 Admission-Bridge

All rights reserved.

  • facebook
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • White Twitter Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle